To Know Him Pt. 2

 

John 17:3

And this is eternal life: [it means] to know (to perceive, recognize, become acquainted with, and understand) You, the only true and real God, and [likewise] to know Him, Jesus [as the] Christ (the Anointed One, the Messiah), Whom You have sent.

Today has been a bit of a challenge (most Mondays are with trying to get us all focused on the tasks of the week set before us, especially me :-))  So letting the kids tackle some things on their own while I take some time to think about the Lord and this blog of His, seems like a good idea.  “You will keep in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on You, because he trusts in You.”  Isaiah 26:3  And I need some peace right now.

Back to the first verse…I’ve been dwelling on this verse for awhile.  When it first stuck out at me last year, I was so awed at the fact that eternal life isn’t up in heaven after I die but right now.  And the focus of the verse is to Know Father God, Jesus, and of course Holy Spirit, who is a part of Him.  Lately I’ve had a cry in my heart to get to know God more and not just what everyone says about Him.  Now there is a great encouragement from listening to great teachings (some we share on the Link page) and going to church with true believers but I know ultimately my salvation has come with the possibility of a close relationship my God.  How cool is that!

So I started with asking Him to soften my heart to hear His Spirit and change my mind to believe and trust His Word more fully (like when I think getting upset at my kids will gain a peaceful home when I know it says in the Word the anger of man does not produce the righteousness of God).  He is such a loving, gentle God and wants the best for us, so of course He is going to answer my prayer to know Him more.

Two verses have been brought to mind along with this  Ephesians 1:17-18″ that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of glory, may give to you the spirit of wisdom and revelation in the knowledge of Him, 18 the eyes of your understanding[c] being enlightened; that you may know what is the hope of His calling, what are the riches of the glory of His inheritance in the saints”  And James 4:8 “ Draw near to God and He will draw near to you.”   Holy Spirit is going to show us who God is and deepen this relationship with knowing Him.  Awesome!  Plus when we let go of our pride (James 4:6) and depend on Him and not ourselves (guilty ;-)) He will give us more grace.  Wow!  Now that’s good news.  Drop our baggage at the door, walk into His throne room, and rest.  God’s got it all covered.  I love it!    Psalm 16:11 ” You will show me the path of life, in your presence is fullness of joy, at your right hand are pleasures forevermore.”

Well, that’s the beginning of what I’m learning and pray it frees and refreshes you with His truth of who He is.  Enjoy the journey of this eternal life with God…right now and forever.  He’s got good things for you and me.  What then shall we say to [all] this?  If God is for us, who [can be] against us? [Who can be our foe, if God is on our side?]”  Romans 8:31 (another verse favorite).

Praising His Name,

Niki

Leave a Reply

