Time and Dispelling Sainthood

 

Sitting down to write your first blog post is incredibly hard!  I’m so thankful to Niki for getting us started and writing such sweet things about me…but they’re not all true.  Why are we blogging together?  Because this journey can be incredibly difficult sometimes and we need support!  So here we will be supporting, encouraging, informing, journeying together and maybe you’ll get a little something out of this too!

My family of 6 (plus 2 dogs, a cat, 2 rabbits and a hamster)  moved from Ohio to Florida in 2013.  It was crazy sometimes, there were back and forth drives (just me and the kids and a pet or two–the hamster traveled back and forth every time!  A comfort for my, at the time, 11 year old son).  But, wow!  God showed up big time!  So as Niki’s family starts a cross country move in the upcoming year there might be some back and forth help and encouragement right here on this blog.  I intended to blog when we moved but never got around to it and now I’m realizing that may still be my problem as Niki is up to her third post and I’m still editing away!

Time.  Isn’t that really the problem?  Isn’t that everyone’s problem these days?  Especially as we share about raising children and particularly homeschooling (they’re always at home!) there never seem to be enough hours in the day.  And believe me as the kids (mine are 20, 18, 14 and 8) get older there is NOT more time.

God was speaking to me about this subject this morning and I’m realizing as I sit and write this that not only is time a struggle but the bigger thing that comes with that lack is not recognizing all of the wonderful things we have, being thankful.

So even though living in Florida is a bit of paradise, it’s really hard to start living a real life somewhere that you’ve always vacationed!  As the few pictures here show, snapshotting a good life is easy but the day to day can get you down if you let it!  So I’m learning to let God be my rest in those moments when I’ve forgotten how to appreciate all I have in the midst of hectic.

God should not be something to add to our to do list, He should be the someone to change our to do list!  If we are so busy that we have no time for the promptings He gives then we are going to feel empty and alone because He is the relationship we need.  And when we do something that is not on the to do list because of His prompting, like having coffee with a friend, we will be triply blessed–by His relationship, what we give to that friend and what we receive from them.

Be triply blessed,

Jen

 

2 thoughts on “Time and Dispelling Sainthood

Leave a Reply

